We have already covered registering a lease-to-own. It has three more cards: provisional registration during construction (2% of the rental value plus 2% and 2% of the sale, filed by the developer), transfer to another bank (0.25% of the rental value — eight times cheaper than entry) and release (a thousand, and a bank letter in Arabic). Along the way we found a discrepancy inside one cluster: the villa and apartment map is AED 225 on one card and AED 250 on its neighbour.
Checked against the official sources on 17 September 2026: the Dubai Land Department service cards "Request for registration a rent-to own property(initial)", "Lease To Own transfer application" and "Lease To Own release application". All three pages were read in their raw form; every figure carries its source link, and the sources are listed at the end.
How a lease-to-own is registered and what entry costs is covered separately. Amending the contract we covered here — where it turned out the Department's amendment tariff is shared across three instruments. That leaves three cards nobody had covered: provisional registration, transfer and release.
Provisional registration: three percentages in one fee block
The description: "This service allows the developer to register a Lease To Own contract in favor of the financing entity and the lessee (tenant) in the provisional register." — the developer registers the lease-to-own contract in favour of the financing entity and the lessee, in the provisional register.
| Line | Amount | Where it is stated |
|---|---|---|
| Lessee (tenant) | 2% of the rental value | provisional registration card |
| Seller | 2% of the sale value | provisional registration card |
| Purchaser | 2% of the sale value | provisional registration card |
| Developer self-registration via Oqood | AED 1,000 | provisional registration card |
| Knowledge fee | AED 10 | provisional registration card |
| Innovation fee | AED 10 | provisional registration card |
| Service time | 6 business days | provisional registration card |
The fee block here is unusual: it carries three percentages in a row, and they are taken on different values — two per cent of the rental value from the lessee, and two per cent of the sale value each from the seller and the purchaser. The Department prints no total, and we derive none.
The elements familiar from provisional registration of an ordinary sale are all here: the same 2% + 2%, the same thousand for the developer's self-registration, the same Oqood portal and the same 90-day deadline — the contract must reach the provisional register within 90 days of signing. Plus two conditions an ordinary sale does not have:
- where the purchaser is a minor, the contract is signed by the guardian, with a copy of the guardian's passport or ID attached;
- a letter from the bank stating the rental value and date — named outright as a condition for registering a mortgage or financing.
Applicant status is all categories; the channel is the Oqood portal. The output is an electronic provisional lease-to-own contract, not a title deed: this is the provisional register, and the difference is covered here.
Transfer: 0.25%, eight times cheaper than entry
The description lists the types: transfer of a lease-to-own contract, of a provisional lease contract, of a usufruct-right lease-to-own contract and of a provisional-registration lease-to-own contract — between an owner and a financing entity.
| Line | Amount | Where it is stated |
|---|---|---|
| Fee on the rental value | 0.25% of the rental value | transfer card |
| Title deed issuance | AED 250 | transfer card |
| Land plot map outside municipality authority | AED 100 | transfer card |
| Land plot map unified with Dubai Municipality | AED 225 | transfer card |
| Villa and apartment map | AED 225 | transfer card |
| Knowledge and innovation fee per drawing | AED 10 each | transfer card |
| Service partner fee | AED 4,000 + VAT | transfer card |
| Service time | 10–15 minutes | transfer card |
What follows is our arithmetic, not a line from the Department. Entry on the rental value costs 2%, a transfer 0.25%: an eightfold ratio. On a rental value of AED 1,000,000 that is AED 20,000 against AED 2,500. The Department prints no such comparison; we give both products so a reader can check them.
The documents work as they do for a finance lease transfer — two letters from different parties: a no-objection letter from the previous bank on the transfer of the lease and a letter from the new bank stating the lease amount and the start and expiry dates. Plus the owner's Emirates ID for identification or a non-resident's passport, and a power of attorney where a representative acts.
The channel is the registration trustee centres; applicant status is all categories; the partners are Dubai Municipality and licensing entities.
A discrepancy inside one cluster, which we are not smoothing over
The "villa and apartment map" line reads AED 225 on the transfer card and AED 250 on the release card. Both cards belong to the same instrument and were read in raw form on the same day. Neighbouring clusters print this line as AED 250: that is how it stands on the finance lease and usufruct cards.
We do not declare either figure a typo: we have no basis for that, and we do have two officially printed numbers. We quote both with their addresses, and suggest checking the line on your invoice rather than recalling it from memory.
Release: a thousand, a letter in Arabic, and courts among the partners
The description lists the same four types as the transfer, but this time between the lessee and the financing bank.
| Line | Amount | Where it is stated |
|---|---|---|
| Removal of the lease-to-own | AED 1,000 | release card |
| Issuance of a title deed or usufruct right | AED 250 | release card |
| Land plot map outside municipality authority | AED 100 | release card |
| Land plot map unified with Dubai Municipality | AED 225 | release card |
| Villa and apartment map | AED 250 | release card |
| Knowledge and innovation fee per drawing | AED 10 each | release card |
| Service partner fee | AED 300 + VAT | release card |
| Service time | 10–15 minutes | release card |
A source detail quoted as it stands: the first fee line is printed as "1,000 fee for removal of Lease To Own" — with no currency marker. From the neighbouring lines on the same card and from the cluster as a whole these are dirhams, but the Department did not write "AED" there, so we add the currency explicitly in our own table rather than passing it off as a quotation.
There are two documents, and the first is the same as for a finance lease release: a letter from the bank releasing the lease-to-own, in Arabic. Plus an Emirates ID or a non-resident's passport.
The partners are listed more widely than on the transfer: banks, financial institutions and Dubai Courts. The transfer card names no courts. Why leaving the instrument involves courts while entering it does not, the card does not explain — but the link with contract cancellation by court order, where lease-to-own is named explicitly, reads for itself.
The three cards side by side
| Provisional | Transfer | Release | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who files | developer, status "all" | all categories | all categories |
| Fee on rent | 2% | 0.25% | none |
| Fixed | AED 1,000 to the developer | — | AED 1,000 |
| Partner | not stated | AED 4,000 + VAT | AED 300 + VAT |
| Time | 6 business days | 10–15 minutes | 10–15 minutes |
| Channel | Oqood portal | registration centres | registration centres |
The shape matches usufruct and the finance lease: entry is expensive, exit is cheap. The partner fee drops from four thousand to three hundred, and percentages vanish from the exit entirely.
What we are not claiming here
- The total paid on provisional registration. Three percentages are stated for different values and different parties; the Department prints no total, and we derive none.
- Which of the two map figures is correct — AED 225 or AED 250. Both are officially printed on cards of the same instrument; we will not choose for the Department.
- What "rental value" means for the 2% and 0.25% calculations. The term is named; the method is not disclosed.
- Why Dubai Courts appear among the release partners but not the transfer's. The lines are quoted as printed.
- The VAT on the partner's fee. "+ VAT" is printed; no total is given.
- The terms of the lease-to-own contract itself. The cards describe registration in the register, not the substance of the deal with the bank.
Sources
- Request for registration a rent-to own property(initial) — Dubai Land Department service card: registration of a lease-to-own contract by the developer in the provisional register in favour of the financing entity and the lessee, fees (2% of the rental value from the lessee, 2% of the sale value each from seller and purchaser, AED 1,000 developer self-registration via Oqood, AED 10 knowledge and AED 10 innovation), 6 business days, five conditions including the 90-day registration deadline, a guardian's signature where the purchaser is a minor, and a bank letter stating the rental value and date, documents for individuals and company forms, channel — the Oqood portal, issued document — an electronic provisional lease-to-own contract, applicant status — all.
- Lease To Own transfer application — service card: transfer of all contract types between an owner and a financing entity, fees (0.25% of the rental value, title deed AED 250, land maps AED 100 and AED 225, villa and apartment map AED 225, AED 10 each, service partner fee AED 4,000 + VAT), 10–15 minutes, documents including the previous bank's no-objection letter and the new bank's letter with the amount and dates, channel — registration centres, status — all, partners — Dubai Municipality and licensing entities.
- Lease To Own release application — service card: release of all contract types between the lessee and the financing bank, fees (the line "1,000 fee for removal of Lease To Own" with no currency marker, title deed or usufruct right AED 250, land maps AED 100 and AED 225, villa and apartment map AED 250, AED 10 each, service partner fee AED 300 + VAT), 10–15 minutes, two documents including the bank's release letter in Arabic, channel — registration centres, status — all, partners — banks, financial institutions and Dubai Courts.



